Results are in for 2018 elections

     Incumbents had a good day at the local polls on Election Day, with the majority holding their seats at the county, state and federal levels.

     One of the most closely contested races in the state was for governor, as incumbent Republican Kim Reynolds won her first full term in office. She received 50% of the vote statewide to lead Democrat Fred Hubbell with 47%.

     Incumbents won races for several other statewide offices, including Republican Paul Pate for Secretary of State, Democrat Michael Fitzgerald for Treasurer of State, Republican Mike Naig for Secretary of Agriculture, and Democrat Tom Miller for Attorney General.

     The only incumbent to be defeated in a race for statewide office was Republican Auditor of State Mary Mosiman. Democrat Rob Sand received 51% of the vote to oust Mosiman, who received 47% of votes cast statewide.

     In the local race for the Iowa House of Representatives, incumbent Republican Tedd Gassman won reelection to his fourth term in office. Gassman, from Scarville, received 57% of the vote district-wide, as he defeated challenger Debra Jensen, a Democrat from Forest City, who received 43% of the vote.

     The race for U.S. Representative in District 4 proved to be a close one, as Republican Steve King held on for reelection to a ninth term in office. King received 50% of the vote to fend off Democratic challenger J.D. Scholten, who received 47% of the vote.

     There were no surprises at the county level in Winnebago County, as a slate of Republican incumbents ran unopposed. Those winning reelection included District 1 Supervisor Terry Durby, District 3 Supervisor Bell Jensvold, County Treasurer Julie Swenson, County Recorder Kristin Colby, and County Attorney Kelsey Beenken.